visiting… family.

Hi! My name is Crystal and I’m the Deslob Student. If you happen to be reading this, you will soon begin to realize that I write a TON (most of the time) and it’s usually “extra” info, or rather “behind the scenes” stuff. I am really good at smiling for the camera and filming things that I want you to see, but speaking my truth is a little more challenging for me.

You see, I have been in an emotionally abusive relationship for almost 17 years. I am trauma bonded, badly and my thoughts about it all toss back and forth all the time. I am in therapy twice a week and I also go to a 12-step group for Co-Dependent’s Anonymous. The only “solution” that I have so far is to practice awareness, be as present as possible (instead of in my head where there is a ton of GLOOM & DOOM) oh and give it to God.

So if you’re here, thank you for being here. Thank you for taking the time to read even up to this point. If you happen to get all the way through this, please drop me a comment or click LIKE if you don’t want me to know who you are. The “LIKES” are anonymous… and they’re free! Clicking LIKE just makes me feel good is all… as I desperately try to figure out my life, I am aching for friends, even if they are just internet friends.

Ok, that’s enough of that Crystal. Let’s move on, shall we?

We, that’s a funny word. Sometimes I talk to myself as if I need an authority figure in my head telling me what to do. Eh, it works for me, so let’s continue. We’ll explain more about this video below.

As you might know, we are posting daily and recently removed a lot of videos too – we don’t want a lot of attention, but we do want to reach those who are looking for similar experiences. If that’s you, welcome!

Thank you for joining us on our 7-day vacation trip… there will 8 videos in total. Why? Because I’m crazy like that, of course! Our next stop is Shawnee, Oklahoma where my husband’s Great Aunt Helen lives.

Let’s shake this Oklahoma series up a bit and talk about CLUTTER. I am in NO place to judge, but I am going to compare… let’s compare Aunt Helen’s house to someone of a similar age, my late Grandma Jean. After all, Jim’s Great Aunt is only 4 years older than my Grandma. She is so very sweet and SPUNKY like my Grandma was, she was also very dedicated to her marriage, even when her husband was a jerk… just like my Grandma was.

A trait that I admire and also fear. I don’t want to die a frustrated old woman like my Grandma did. (You can listen to more of my thoughts about that on this vlog: https://deslobstudent.wordpress.com/2022/02/14/divine-intervention/)

As we continue to compare the two incredible women, I am noticing more similarities. My Grandma’s house was soooo very similar to Great Aunt Helen’s house. Wood paneling, 70’s carpet, books, photos and whatnots that haven’t been moved in decades.

My Grandma was able to redecorate in the last 20 years or so, but Aunt Helen seems to be content just surrounded by all her memories.

I’m also going to talk about my mother-in-law here. She is definitely influenced by her Aunt Helen. Not only are their mannerisms similar, but I can also tell the way that they store their clutter and hoard plastic bins are similar too. This was just too much of a similarity for me to miss. 🙂

My Grandma’s clutter wasn’t all bins full of memories though. No, my Grandma and Grandpa ran a little Discount store in Idaho and they often brought merchandise home. That’s where Great Aunt Helen’s clutter is slightly different. Great Aunt Helen’s clutter looks like MY CLUTTER. Bins, baskets, stacks and stacks, covered in dust. This is why I had to film. Because, HELLO, I am the Deslob Student and if the ONLY lessons of decluttering that I have had are from my Grandma and my mother-in-law, well then, you know… I’m screwed!

Over the last decade. I have turned to the wonderful YouTube influencers like Dana K. White & Rachel Jones. I am learning how to declutter my home without shoving my shit into another bin.

This video is somewhat short, and cute and only meant to be shared out of love and inspiration. I am inspired to have a home that is LESS cluttered by the time I’m in my 80’s. I’d love to see if we can do it within the next YEAR! Wouldn’t that be nice?

Ok, that’s all for now. Thank you for reading!

Music: Things A Man Oughta Know by Lainey Wilson
& Positive Motivation by purple planet

Website: https://deslobstudent.wordpress.com/

2 thoughts on “visiting… family.

Leave a comment