DEPRESSION is My Invisible Struggle

I know, I’m a slob.

You don’t have to remind me. I am working on it… every. single.day.

What’s even worse, I have an invisible illness ~ it’s called DEPRESSION.

You can’t SEE what Depression is doing to me, but you can see what it’s doing to my house. I am fighting in a battle against depression and I hope one day I will the war.

Some days are better than ever and I am coping better than I ever have before. Starting my cleaning videos has helped me a ton. So has medication, talking to friends, writing poetry, listening to music, going to weekly therapy sessions and even trying some holistic approaches but the biggest thing that helped most of all was… meditating.

Quieting the mind, stopping the negative self-talk, giving myself forgiveness and grace. I know that I need to keep trusting that the creator of this universe wants the best for me while surrendering to whatever lessons I need to learn.

Do you know someone that has an invisible illness?

Be careful of what you assume is going on in someone else’s life. We all show others what we *want* the world to see but many of us suffer secretly behind closed doors… some more than others. But all of us have *something* we’re trying to overcome… something we wish we could improve magically overnight. We know something that you may not know about most things in life… … life improves in Babysteps. Not with harsh words. Not with a firm fist or QUICK FIX.

No one overcomes their invisible struggles exactly like another… so, of course, we each handle our invisible struggles differently than how someone else might handle theirs…we can’t pretend that there is a one-size-fits-all FIX.

Don’t be that BULLY in someone else’s life that makes them feel worse than how they already felt. Judging someone else doesn’t SNAP them out if it. It doesn’t make them magically better. It doesn’t do a damn thing except make them keep the door closed even longer.

Be compassionate, be understanding, be inquisitive, be unbiased and be open to listening to someone else’s story, be willing to HEAR THEM and see their perspective. Be someone who takes time to learn about what’s underneath the surface and perhaps they will share what invisible struggles they are faced with every.single.day.

But Most of all… be kind. Be someone that a struggling person can trust. So when they are ready to open that door to you, MAYBE, only Maybe, they will be open to your kind suggestions too.

 

Leave a comment